Posted by: MTR | January 18, 2010

I thanked God that I did

 In 1811, in a letter to John Bristed, he wrote:

“I do not recollect to have had more than two conversations with atheists about their tenents. The first was this: I was at a large party, of which were several of that description. They spoke freely and contemptuously of religion. I took no part in the conversation. In the course of it, one of them asked me if I believed in Christ? I answered that I did, and that I thanked God that I did.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

